Lord Ashcroft publishes his latest bravery book in the “Heroes” series

  • 8 November, 2016
  • Bravery
  • Publications

Lord Ashcroft’s latest bravery book, Victoria Cross Heroes Volume II, is published today.

The new book, which is being published by Biteback, tells the true, action-packed stories behind nearly 60 awards of the VC, Britain and the Commonwealth’s most prestigious gallantry medal for courage in the face of the enemy.

All the 58 VCs featured in the new book are part of Lord Ashcroft’s medal collection, the biggest of its kind in the world.

Courageous soldiers, sailors and airmen all feature in Victoria Cross Heroes Volume II. The stories will span from the Crimean War, which led to the creation of the VC in 1856, to the Second World War.

Lord Ashcroft’s fascination with bravery goes back to his childhood. Over the years, this interest in courage turned into a passion for gallantry medals, particularly the VC.

He now owns 200 VCs and his latest book tells of the courage behind many of these decorations.

The new book is the sixth in the “Heroes” series. It is the follow-up to his best-seller Victoria Cross Heroes, first published in November 2006, and which told the stories behind the first 142 VCs in his collection.

Buy the book
Related Stories