Heroes of the Skies

  • 13 September, 2012
  • Bravery
  • Medals
  • Publications

Heroes of the Skies is the fourth book by Lord Ashcroft in his bravery series. The book tells the remarkable stories behind the world’s largest private collection of medals for gallantry in the air that were awarded to more than 80 British, Commonwealth and other Allied airmen.

Heroes of the Skies uses new material from pilots’ log books, eye-witnesses, letters, interviews, citations and other sources to tell the stories of air combat, bombing raids and other bravery displayed by airmen as long ago as the First World War and up to the on-going conflict in Afghanistan. The book was published by Headline on 13 September 2012. Its Foreword is written by Marshal of the RAF Sir Michael Beetham GCB, CBE, DFC, AFC.

Many of us share the author’s fascination with the bravery of others, and these amazing stories allow us to remember and honour those who have risked, and often lost, their own lives for the sake of others.

Lord Ashcroft believes that great courage should be widely acclaimed and must never be forgotten.

Heroes of the Skies by Michael Ashcroft was published in hardback by Headline Review in September 2012.

Lord Ashcroft is donating all the author royalties from the sale of Heroes of the Skies to the charity The Royal Air Force Benevolent Fund.

Heroes of the Skies has also been made into a brand new six-part series starting at 8pm on Thursday, 20 September 2012 on Channel 5.

To purchase the book click here

For more information, visit:

Related Stories